Jr Hockey Digest
Don't Miss

Brahmas Come From Behind For Shootout Win

Photo courtesy of Rebekah Bing Photography: Brahmas' defenseman Kimball Johnson scored the shootout game winner in the fifth round as Lone Star came back from a 3-1 deficit to take a 4-3 win over the Corpus Christi Icerays.


For the second night in a row the Lone Star Brahmas faced a 3-1 deficit against the Corpus Christi Icerays. Unlike the night before the Brahmas were able to come all the way back and took a shootout win to earn a road split going into their upcoming 10 game home stand.

The Icerays jumped out to a lead as  Larry Jungwirth picked up his 10th goal in the last six games on the power play at 10:13 of the first. Matt Acciaioli got is all started sending it to Rylee St. Onge in the right wing circle for a quick shot that Mitchell Gibson kicked aside. Jungwirth who was just off the bottom of the far circle jumped on the loose puck and put off of Kimball Johnson’s skate and five hole on Gibson for the early lead.

At 11:55 of the second, Kyle Hallbauer picked the puck up below the goal line in the Brahmas’ zone and went the other way with Ture Linden to his left. The Lone Star defenseman carried it into the attacking zone and blasted one off of a diving Brendan Miller who dropped to block the shot and behind Chad Veltri to knot the score at 1-1.

It didn’t take the Icerays long to respond as one of the least productive power play units in the league took advantage of a Trevor Zenas hooking penalty to beat one of the top penalty kill units in the NAHL. At 13:36 St Onge sent the puck along the blueline to Acciaioli at the near point for a shot through traffic and over the glove hand.

Lone Star had their chances late in the frame on the power play with Michael Montambault getting two close in opportunities that were denied by Veltri.

Early in the third, the Icerays’ St. Onge and Conor Yawney went on a two on one with Johnson back to defend. St. Onge carried it down the left side with Yawney on the right. Johnson dropped to take away the shooting lane and St. Onge’s pass was right on the tape of Yawney, but Gibson made a big move across the goal mouth to snatch away the shot with the glove. Corpus Christi would get another odd man rush at 10:52 of the third this time a three on two. Trevor Wilhelm made a great pass across to Jungwirth in the crease with Anton Sandberg draped on his back, but he managed to poke it past Gibson for the two goal lead.

After the media timeout, the teams lined up to Veltri’s right for the faceoff. When the puck dropped it was pushed into the corner and as Wilhelm tried to feed a pass out to the middle, Aidan Spellacy picked it off then spun and fired it top shelf to pull Lone Star to within one. Time of the goal was 11:51. The Brahmas would knot the score at 15:36 after Drew Lennon made a scamper up the near boards to set things up shooting the puck off Veltri. Linden kept it alive off the far post pushing it out front off of Ryan Orgel for Austin Bottrell to backhand into the twine.

With the tie the game went to an overtime and eventually a shootout.

Aleksi Peltonen skated it slowly up the middle, dusted it off and put it five hole on Gibson.

Hallbauer was up first for Lone Star and followed the same script as Peltonen taking it up the middle deking left then pulling it back to the right to go five hole.

After three rounds of scoreless shooters, Kimball Johnson jumped over the boards to take a shot. Johnson carried it wide right, cut across the crease then went back against the grain to put it five hole on Veltri giving the Brahmas the extra point in the fifth round.

Shots on goal were 25-22 in Lone Star’s favor. The special teams were all Corpus Christi as they went 2-5 on the power play and held the Brahmas to 0-4.



Elsewhere Around the NAHL South

Topeka at Amarillo

Topeka also took a shootout win to sweep the Bulls. Will Schlagenhauf had the RoadRunners only goal in the first as the teams entered the second tied 1-1. Both scored once in the second with Zeke Zeier getting the tally for Topeka. The third was a carbon copy of the first two frames except the RoadRunners were the first to score thanks to Max Finner. The shootout went to eight round before Hugh Quinn got the game winner. Emil Gransoe got the win on 42 saves.

Odessa at Shreveport

Shreveport had a fairly easy go of it at home finishing their sweep of the Jackalopes. The Mudbugs scored four times in the second with Jack Clement, Cameron Cook, Jake Transit and Kieran Durgan doing the damage. Cook added a goal in the third to finish off the scoring. James Durham faced 21 shots in the shutout win.


Current NAHL South Division Standings

1 Shreveport Mudbugs 20 14 4 1 1 30
2 Lone Star Brahmas 22 13 6 1 2 29
3 Amarillo Bulls 20 9 7 2 2 22
4 Corpus Christi IceRays 22 9 10 1 2 21
5 Odessa Jackalopes 21 9 10 1 1 20
6 Topeka RoadRunners 23 8 13 1 1 18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *