Jr Hockey Digest
Don't Miss

Brahmas Stopped By Mudbugs – Officiating

Lone Star Brahmas



The Lone Star Brahmas and Shreveport Mudbugs closed out their weekend series Saturday in a contest marred by questionable officiating.

The Mudbugs controlled play for much of the first half of the opening frame. Shreveport stuck first on the power play at 9:31 of the first. They had it set up in the zone cycling it along the blueline with Anton Rubtsov and Aidan Metcalfe playing catch. Metcalfe got a pass in his wheelhouse and ripped it on net. Timofei Khokhlachev tipped it in front redirecting it past Cayden Bailey. A defensive zone turn over put the Mudbugs up 2-0. Carson Nichols sent it from the top of the far circle to Ryan Waltman in the slot and he hit Warren Natyshak on the backdoor with a touch pass for a onetimer past the left skate of Bailey. Time of the goal was 14:34.

With 3:00 minutes left Matt Guerra went high to glove down a clearing attempt. He dropped the puck at the blueline and headed toward the net nearly deking Metcalfe out of his skates on the way then sending a wrister on net. He had Richie Parent beat but the puck went off the far post then the near post and out to the halfwall.

The Brahmas started showing some life approaching the midpoint of the second. With approximately 11 minutes left in the period Metcalfe literally horse collared Eric Huss in the near circle but for some inexplicable reason Referee David Lilly forgot how to blow the whistle and let play continue.

At 13:49 of the second Michal Stinil dropped it to Guerra just inside the blueline and he pushed it down to Will Stromp on the near circle. Stinil continued into the slot for the return pass from Stromp in stride for the onetimer over the left pad. Just 35 seconds Huss made a strong play along the boards to free the puck from the tape of Natyshak at the far point then carried it into the zone before sending it to Joey Baez up top. Baez went back across the grain to find Thomas Daskas streaking in on the rightwing for the redirect and a new hockey game.

Moments later Bailey robbed Brent Keefer on the backdoor with the right pad to keep it knotted at 2-2.

The Brahmas took the lead with 2:13 left with Guerra redirecting a Cole Bielke shot from the near halfwall.

Giovanni Procopio brought the Mudbugs right back at 17:50 settling a bouncing puck in the slot and firing a shot that Bailey got most of but the puck skittered across the goal line for the 3-3 tie.

With just 2:04 gone in the third a small skirmish broke out. Alexis Girard grabbed Stinil and standing not four feet from Referee David Lilly. Girard dropped the gloves bent Stinil over and fed him two uppercuts yet only got a double roughing minor plus a 10 minute misconduct while Stinil received a roughing and 10 minute misconduct. Keeping Stinil off the ice for 12 minutes in exchange for Girard is a tradeoff that Shreveport will take every time.

With 10:21 left in the third Metcalfe crosschecked Joey Trazzera in the face opening a cut on the Brahmas’ defenseman and earning Metcalfe a head contact major plus a game misconduct. The ice crew spent several minutes cleaning the blood off the ice at the far point before play could resume.

Just 2:13 into the major penalty one of the weakest roughing calls you will ever see was handed to Daskas wiping out much of the Brahmas power play. The teams lined up for a faceoff to Bailey’s right when the puck was dropped Guerra was whistled for cross checking on the draw for another ticky-tack penalty putting the Mudbugs on the power play.

While this site seldom calls out the officiating, Lilly decided to insert himself into the contest making some very questionable calls taking the Brahmas off a major power play to even things out for Shreveport after they had a player injure an opponent drawing a significant amount of blood in the process.

The game went to overtime where Shreveport got the game winner from Carson Nichols at 3:20 off a Natyshak rebound coming on a two on one rush.

Shreveport dominated shots on goal at 33-17. They also scored the only power play goal going 1-5 while Lone Star was 0-6.



Elsewhere Around the NAHL South

Topeka at Odessa

The Pilots got a goal from Austin McCarthy at 3:28 of the third while Guy Blessing stopped all 21 shots he faced for the 1-0 win.

Corpus Christi at New Mexico

Mac Wiseman scored in the first with Evan Carroll adding a pair in the second along with a Ryan Coughlin goal. Erik Bargholtz scored in the third. Jeremy Forman picked up the shutout win making 25 saves.

Amarillo at Kenai River

Still Underway


Current NAHL South Standings





x – Lone Star Brahmas


42 9 1 1


x – Amarillo Bulls


39 9 2 3


x – Topeka Pilots


33 14 3 2


x – Shreveport Mudbugs


34 18 0 0


Corpus Christi IceRays


16 30 3 4


New Mexico Ice Wolves


13 34 2 3


Odessa Jackalopes


9 39 1 1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.