Jr Hockey Digest
Don't Miss

Lone Star Brahmas Victorious Over Mudbugs

Lone Star Brahmas Photo courtesy of Tina Reilly: Ludvig Persson stopped 20 of 21 shots faced to lead the Lone Star Brahmas past the Shreveport Mudbugs 4-1 on Friday night at Hirsch Coliseum.


The Lone Star Brahmas and Shreveport Mudbugs took the George’s Pond ice Friday in a preview of what could well be a preview of round one of the Robertson Cup Playoffs.

Near the 8:00 minute mark Jacob Smith snuck past the defense then spotted Ryan Dickinson on the backdoor with a pass through the crease. Ludvig Persson made the push across playing big and blocked aside the quick wrister to keep it a scoreless game.

With just over three minutes to play the league’s top penalty kill was called upon due to a Matthew Rickard interference minor. Shreveport managed a single shot on goal with the best scoring chance going to Lone Star when Noah Roofe took off up ice with the puck and putting it off the pads of Maszion Balboa.

At 7:41 of the second a Giovanni Procopio roughing penalty put Lone Star on their first power play of the night. With 25 seconds remaining on the man advantage the Brahmas won a faceoff in the offensive zone and were cycling the puck up top. Josh Martin pushed it to Matt Guerra skating off the near halfwall. Guerra curled to the blueline then sent a beautiful pass to Michal Stinil anchored just off the near post for a redirect over the right pad of Balboa.

It took Shreveport just over a minute to have an answer to the Lone Star goal. Anton Rubtsov pulled the puck out of a puck battle in the rightwing corner and skated it between the circles before ripping it through a screen and past Persson. Conor Witherspoon and Brent Keefer were credited with assists on the play.

The Lone Star Brahmas wasted little time in jumping back out front thanks to another power play. Thomas Daskas made a strong play to keep the puck in the zone and send it down to Rickard along the halfwall. The Brahmas defenseman pushed the puck low to Eric Huss below the goal line as Daskas followed the pass into the left circle taking a Huss pass and onetiming over the right shoulder of Balboa.

Persson came up big one again with a blocker save on a drive by from Alexis Girard as time was winding down. As a result the Brahmas carried a 2-1 lead into the second intermission. Lone Star had to feel good coming out of the room as they were 36-0-0-0 when entering the third with a lead.

Sam Brennan got the Brahmas started again in the third with a big back check to break up a Shreveport odd man rush. The play led to Will Stromp bolting up the far side with the puck and firing a shot off the left pad of the netminder. The rebound jumped all the way past the top of the near circle where Guerra wound up for a huge slapper off Balboa into the slot for Joey Baez to deposit into the back of the net. Time of the goal was 6:28.

With right at eight minutes remaining in the third the Mudbugs thought they had pulled within one but Persson was ran on the play prompting the goal to be waived off. Stinil was standing in the crease when he was jumped from behind by Dickinson. Dickinson was hit with a double minor for roughing and a 10 minute misconduct. Stinil got a crosscheck and a 10 minute misconduct for defending himself. Patriks Ozols also was whistled for a roughing minor.

Lone Star was not done for the night. With eight seconds left Roofe won a faceoff to Persson’s left cleanly back to Martin who sent it the length of the ice into the empty net.

In addition to the lead on the scoreboard the Brahmas won both the shots on goal battle and special teams play. Lone Star outshot Shreveport 29-21. The Brahmas were 2-6 with the man advantage while holding the Mudbugs off the board on eight opportunities.




Elsewhere Around the NAHL South

Topeka at Odessa

The Jackalopes scored the overtime upset of the Pilots at Ector County Coliseum. Topeka took an early lead in the fist but Samuel Miller got it tied 1-1 for Odessa. After a scoreless second Topeka once again moved out to a one goal lead only to see Spencer Kimball knot it up with 1:38 left. Samuel Harris netted the game winner 1:13 into overtime. Andrew Takacs picked up the win on 34 saves.

Corpus Christi at New Mexico

The Ice Wolves held a 3-1 lead going into the second thanks to goal from Philip Ekberg, Spencer Rudrud and Cooper Anderson. Corpus Christi would score once in the second and again in the third to claw their way back into the contest. However, Tristan Rand scored 57 seconds after the IceRays had tied it for the game winner. Henrik Laursen faced 27 shots in the win.

Amarillo at Kenai River

Niclas Puikkonen scored the first goal of the game at the 7:55 mark of the second period with a five minute slashing major called on Kenai River on the play. Despite being down a man the Brown Bears scored just eight seconds later to take the wind out of Amarillo sails. Kenai River scored again on the power play with under two minutes left in the frame. In the third the home team pushed the lead to 3-1. Ty Black pulled the Bulls to within one with just 44 seconds left but Amarillo could not get the equalizer. Charlie Glockner took the loss despite making 37 saves on the night.


Current NAHL South Standings





x – Lone Star Brahmas


42 9 0 1


x – Amarillo Bulls


39 9 2 3


x – Topeka Pilots


32 14 3 2


x – Shreveport Mudbugs


33 18 0 0


Corpus Christi IceRays


15 30 3 4


New Mexico Ice Wolves 51 13 33 2 3 31
Odessa Jackalopes 49 9 38 1 1 20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.