Jr Hockey Digest
Don't Miss

Lone Star Brahmas #NameThemChamps

Lone Star Brahmas


The Lone Star Brahmas took it to the New Jersey Titans in the NAHL Virtual Robertson Cup grabbing a 6-3 win.

Thomas Daskas opened the scoring 4:02 into the contest with assists going to Will Stromp and Josh Martin. Stromp added an unassisted goal at 12:11 putting back an Evan Googins rebound.

In the second Eric Huss took a CJ Walker pass and deposited in the back of the net at 16:30 for a power play goal. With only seven seconds left in the frame Andrew DeCarlo redirected a Patriks Ozols blast from the blueline with Googins picking up the secondary assist.

Michal Stinil picked up an empty netter with 29 seconds left in regulation from Joey Baez and Matt Guerra. With New Jersey in desperation mode Baez hit another empty net goal just 12 seconds later to ice it away. Stinil picked up the assist on the play.

Cayden Bailey was in net for the win stopping 38 of the 41 shots he faced.

Lone Star had the regular season crown firmly in their grasp when the season came to an end prior to the playoffs due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

They had the best goal differential in the NAHL at +109 a full 23 goals ahead of their nearest competitor. Lone Star finished the season outscoring their opponents 190 to 81.

The Brahmas had the top two goalies in the league in Cayden Bailey and Ludvig Persson.

Their defense was tops in the NAHL allowing a paltry 1.53 goals per game.

They also had the top penalty kill in the league at a phenomenal 93.8% allowing just 13 goals in 211 times shorthanded.

Joey Baez led the league in goals scored with 32.

Matt Guerra tied for the league lead in assists with 45.

Defenseman Mitchell Digby made his way onto the All-Rookie Team and the South Division All-Rookie Team.

Forward Joey Baez and goalie Cayden Bailey were named to the 2019/20 All-NAHL 1st Team while forward Matt Guerra and defenseman Sam Brennan were named to the 2019/20 All-NAHL 2nd Team.

Cayden Bailey received an individual award as well garnering 2019/20 Vaughn Goaltender of the Year.

Head Coach Dan Wildfong was named 2019/20 Coach and General Manager of the Year.

Lone Star dominated the All-South Division Team claiming four of the six spots on the team. Joey Baez and Matt Guerra took two of the three forward slots along with defenseman Sam Brennan and goalie Cayden Bailey.

Now with the Virtual Robertson Cup Win, it is time that all associated with the NAHL to #NameThemChamps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.